AM Explorer: Global Humanities gives you access to millions of digital primary sources, offering original content that can be integrated into class presentations, papers, essays or individual projects, to bring your research to life.
Within your plan are over 30 separate databases, each containing archival material on themes or subjects in fields ranging from literature, history and politics to economics and cultural studies. You can browse and search these databases individually, or make use of our cross-search platform, AM Search, to locate the content most relevant to your needs.
Use the guidance on this page to explore the best ways to discover, analyse and make use of original documents in your work, and find additional inspiration in essays, video interviews and a whole range of contextual support tools.
This short video will guide you through the basics of searching across all AM titles in your plan. For more advice on finding the most relevant material, check out the Searching guide.
Alongside the extensive archival content in your plan, the Research Skills Foundations module offers resources designed to develop your primary source literacy skills, whatever your level of experience.
The Learning Tools in this collection can walk you through some key concepts and methodologies to build your confidence in working with original materials, all the way from What is a Primary Source? or How to Research Marginal Groups through to complex issues such as The Nature of History and Its Role in Contemporary Society.
Find more on how to get the best out of Research Skills Foundations here.
Research Skills Foundations has guidance at every step, from getting started to completing your bibliography. Find support on:
If you want to explore possibilities for Data and Text Mining, help is at hand:
If you don't yet have a specific search term in mind, the Full database list allows you to browse your entire range of databases to find content relevant to your own area of study. You can use the Subject filter to select the regions or themes most useful to you.
Once you are in an individual database, use the video below to for tips on getting started, browsing and using the interactive tools in AM resources.
When you have located the individual database you are interested in, head for the Thematic Guides section (usually found under the Research Tools tab) to find useful summaries of the key themes and topics you can find in that title: these have been developed as a starting point for exploring collections, with links directly through to relevant documents.
