East Asia: Macau

This single archive source includes the rare and distinctive Wason pamphlet collection held by Cornell University Library, published between c1750 and 1929. Merchant Biographies give background detail on the prominent merchants and merchant families in this resource. They include the family of Nathaniel Kinsman, who settled in Macau in the 1840s. Kinsman lived and worked in Canton, establishing a new mercantile house for the firm.
Many documents concerning the family have survived, including their many correspondence, household receipts, and diaries kept by Rebecca Kinsman, Nathaniel’s wife and secretary for Wetmore and Company. These provide a unique insight into how Americans adjusted to the customs and culture of China.

Unique and extremely rare eighteenth-century periodicals, each chosen to convey the eclecticism and evolution of the publishing world between 1685 and 1835. Highlights include a complete run of The Lady's Magazine, and rare titles missed out of other collections focused on the Eighteenth Century.
Macau is mentioned in journals such as 'Harrop's Manchester Mercury' as a trading post and centre of activity for the East India Company.

Empire Online charts the rise and fall of empires across the world over a period of five centuries. The imperial ambitions of European powers in relation to East Asia were seen in many different areas of activity, such as trading relationships, missionary efforts, educational ventures, and the use of slave labour.
An essay by Professor Alan Frost of La Trobe University, ‘Economic Aspects of Empire’, looks in detail at the trade between East Asia and the West, highlighting sources on eighteenth-century British trading voyages to Macau and Canton.

An AM Archives Direct title, featuring formerly restricted British Foreign Office files relating to China, Hong Kong and Taiwan. The constant exchange of information between the British government and its embassies and consulates overseas is seen here in diplomatic dispatches, correspondence, newspaper cuttings, maps, biographies, and diverse other materials. They include reports on the internal political situation in Macau, and its trade with the UK.

This collection consists of a varied array of records of traders, travellers, missionaries and diplomats, from the mid-seventeenth century to the late twentieth century, offering Western perspectives on all aspects of Chinese culture and society. Documents relating to Macau include visual materials such as a postcard of the Morrison Chapel, an Anglican chapel in the city of Macau.

This collection consists of a wide range of sources, by writers, diplomats, tourists, businessmen, missionaries and others, documenting the political, cultural and social history of Japan from 1400 to the 20th century. A collection titled 'Japan through Western Eyes' contains press cuttings, brochures and typescripts relating to Macau, 1959-1981.

Unique and extremely rare periodicals chosen to convey the eclecticism and evolution of the publishing world between 1685 and 1835. They include publications reporting on colonial trading routes and the defence of fleets from pirate attack.