East Asia: Hong Kong

Material in the collection explores the rise of the global human rights movement from its foundation in 1961.
Content relating to Hong Kong includes a 2004 poster raising awareness about domestic violence.

This single archive source includes the rare and distinctive Wason pamphlet collection held by Cornell University Library, published between c1750 and 1929. It offers a variety of English language sources on a wide range of research interests and topics relating to Chinese history, religion, culture and everyday life. Sources on Hong Kong include documents relating to British colonial government, accounts of natural disasters, and travel journals.

This resource charts two centuries of Chinese history from the earliest English embassy, to the creation of the People’s Republic, through to visits by Nixon and Heath to China in the 1970s. Sources such as ‘The Treaty Ports of China and Japan: A complete guide to the open ports of those countries, together with Peking, Yedo, Hongkong and Macao’ (London, 1867) describe the ceding of Hong Kong to Britain by the terms of the Treaty of Nanking of 1842, and the establishment of a free port.

This resource features an exciting selection of documentary and actuality film footage from the British Film Institute, filmed through the eyes of predominantly Western travellers. It contains 35 films focusing on, or including content about, Hong Kong, such as 'Homes for Hong Kong' (1973), 'Sea Festivals of Hong Kong' (1962), and 'Streets of Hong Kong - Summertime 1936'.

Records from the British government’s India Office, held at the British Library and digitised for this collection, illustrate the history of the East India Company from 1599 to 1947. The global operations of this powerful trading force extended in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries to include China, with a principal trading base first in Taiwan and later Canton.
An essay by Sam Ellis of the University of Leeds, ‘The Sepoy Abroad: East India Company expeditions beyond south Asia’ describes developments in trade with China during this period, including the Opium Wars, the 1842 Treaty of Nanking, and the ceding to Britain of Hong Kong.

This collection features thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational content, film footage, notebooks, correspondence and slides from locations worldwide. The extensive collections of musicologist Robert Garfias contain recordings from Japan, Hong Kong and South Korea.

This collection explores the history of illness, treatment and disease on international front lines from 1850 to 1949. Content on Hong Kong includes guides to mosquitoes and malaria in the region, and British government records relating to medical facilities in Hong Kong.

This resource brings together documents and collections from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world covering an extensive time period from 1490. Close attention has been given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.
Twentieth century records include a study of 'Child slavery in Hong Kong' (1954-56).

This resource is an Archives Direct title, featuring formerly restricted British Foreign Office files relating to China, Hong Kong and Taiwan. The constant exchange of information between the British government and its embassies and consulates overseas is seen here in diplomatic dispatches, correspondence, newspaper cuttings, maps, biographies, and diverse other materials.

This collection consists of a varied array of records of traders, travellers, missionaries and diplomats, from the mid-seventeenth century to the late twentieth century, offering Western perspectives on all aspects of Chinese culture and society. Includes the papers of John Backhouse, chief clerk at the British consulate in Hong Kong in the 1840s and 1850s. A module on Asian Economic History (series two) contains UK government documents 1950-1980 relating to the economic stresses of Hong Kong, Singapore, South Korea and Taiwan as rapidly emerging and newly industrialised economies.

This is a rich repository of source materials on the work of this globally influential organisation, founded in 1799 as an Anglican evangelical movement and still active today. It comprises records of both the CMS itself and the many other missionary societies which have become associated or amalgamated with it over its lifetime. Includes a series of records on the South China (Hong Kong) Mission 1935-1949.

These primary sources are a hugely important resource for the study of missionary work, educational work, medical work, evangelism, political conflict, and the emergence of indigenous churches. The collections are truly global in scope, with Africa, East and South Asia, Australasia and the Pacific, and the Americas all well-represented. The sources will be of interest to scholars in a range of fields, from missiology to colonial history and anthropology.

Primary sources, offering insight into many aspects of the war, including government policy, the war in the Pacific, and the war in Europe. A collection of British Cabinet Papers labelled 'Far East' report on events in Hong Kong 1940-1943.

This resource features thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from locations worldwide.
The Robert Garfias Field Recording Collection includes a series of tracks from Hong Kong.