East Asia: Mongolia

This resource presents the archival records of the International Secretariat of Amnesty International from 1961-1991. Content relating to Mongolia includes a 2000 poster from Amnesty International Mongolia calling for action against torture.

This resource charts two centuries of Chinese history from the earliest English embassy, to the creation of the People’s Republic, through to visits by Nixon and Heath to China in the 1970s. It is drawn from nine archives, and offers valuable English-language material relating to China’s interactions with the West, and its establishment as a modern power. It includes a series of maps of Mongolia, as well as British travel writings and missionary records.

This resources features features documentary and actuality film footage from the British Film Institute, filmed through the eyes of predominantly Western travellers. It includes a 1935 film titled 'Mongolia', taken by Sir Charles Bell, depicting the life of the noamds, yurt encampments and scenes in a military encampment.

Contains an extensive range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. These have extensive reporting on the role of Mongolia in the conflict, its links to the Soviet military, and the invasion of Manchuria in 1945.

This collection of Foreign Office Files provides a comprehensive history of key events across Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos during a period of political upheaval, civil unrest and escalating conflict. It includes documents on commercial and political relations between Mongolia, Vietnam and China.

An AM Archives Direct title, featuring formerly restricted British Foreign Office files relating to China, Hong Kong and Taiwan. The constant exchange of information between the British government and its embassies and consulates overseas is seen here in diplomatic dispatches, correspondence, newspaper cuttings, maps, biographies, and diverse other materials. There are detailed considerations of the question of Mongolian independence and relations with China.

British Government Foreign Office files relating to Japan. An important resource due to the UK maintaining diplomatic ties to Japan for more of this period than many other nations, and the destruction of many Japanese Government records in 1945. Covers information on Japanese and Russian spheres on interest in Mongolia.

This collection consists of a varied array of records of traders, travellers, missionaries and diplomats, from the mid-seventeenth century to the late twentieth century, offering Western perspectives on all aspects of Chinese culture and society. Content relating to Mongolia includes records of missionary activity there, and observational writings of British travellers to the area.

These primary sources are a hugely important resource for the study of missionary work, educational work, medical work, evangelism, political conflict, and the emergence of indigenous churches. They record the activities of organisations such as the United Free Church of Scotland in Mongolia in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

Contains an extensive range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world.