Here you can find more details on your online primary source collections published by AM, along with detailed searching guides, further information on exclusive content in Archives Direct, and links to additional assistance and resources available from AM's Engagement team for students, faculty and librarians.
Archive partnerships
Over the past 30 years, AM has built strong relationships with libraries, archives and heritage institutions around the world – from The British Library to Amnesty International Archives, from the Folger Shakespeare Library to Library and Archives Canada, and many more – to digitise the world’s historical and cultural knowledge. Every archival collection and repository is different, and we take a bespoke approach to developing resources, involving curators, special collections librarians and archival partners from the earliest point of resource development. Find out more about our work with archival partners.
Diversity in our content
We acknowledge that hegemonic perspectives and voices have often survived at the expense of marginalised communities, and understand that by digitising primary sources, we contribute to the continued preservation and discovery of these materials. We seek feedback from the academic community and collaborate with a dedicated board of consultants for each product, aiming to ensure the inclusion of scholars and curatorial experts who can speak to the experiences of underrepresented communities.
We continue to increase our efforts to commission essays and features which contextualise problematic terminology, highlight archival silences, discuss some of the complexities of historic archival practice and shed light on tools that students can use to overcome these challenges. Find out more about AM’s approach to diversity in our content.
Historic language
Every care and attention has been paid to preserve the historic authenticity of these documents. Any terminology that may be deemed discriminatory or offensive by present-day principles may have been preserved for the historic accuracy and relevance to that particular document.
